4th Bn Harry Jones

This section of the forum is for any enquires relating the the First World War covering the dates 1914 to 1920.

Moderators: Kevin Lynott, peter, LarsA

4th Bn Harry Jones

Postby Jan » Thu Nov 06, 2008 8:09 pm

Help - I am new to this - this is my first posting!
My Grandfather Harry Jones who was in the 4th Bn died on 1 Dec 1917. He was a Private, Service No. 41519 and is buried in Tincourt New British Cemetery. I also know that he died of wounds France & Flanders. That much I know! Can anyone tell me how to find out any more information. Anything would help. Thanks. Jan
Jan
Jan

Postby johnjarratt » Thu Nov 06, 2008 8:46 pm

Hello and welcome.

I will be able to supply you with his Medal Index Card, which shows his medal entitlement and when he joined up and where he started his service.
All I need is your e-mail, so if you e-mail me saying hello to
john@lostmedals.co.uk , then i will send the card straight back.

There are some very knowledgably people on this forum, who will be able to help you with the details of his service upto his death.

Sorry i can't help anymore.

John
Pte Thomas W Jarratt 4th Btn.
johnjarratt

Postby Kevin Lynott » Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:20 pm

Jan.

The 4th Worcs spent the night of 29-30 November 1917 in the cellars of Marcoing. On the morning of 30th November the Germans broke through the 29th Div and 4th Worcs were ordered to defensive positions to the south west of the town along a sunken lane to the south of Marcoing Copse, even as they deployed the Germans were bearing down on the line having captured an artillery battery. The Germans were halted and an 88th Brig counter-attack was organised and the Germans were pushed back

Kevin
Kevin Lynott

Harry Jones

Postby Jan » Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:33 pm

Hi Kevin