Private Albert Johns 242048 1st/8th Battalion

This section of the forum is for any enquires relating the the First World War covering the dates 1914 to 1920.

Moderators: Kevin Lynott, peter, LarsA

Private Albert Johns 242048 1st/8th Battalion

Postby flatcapmon » Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:41 pm

Greetings,

I am a complete beginner as to where you go to start researching army records, so any help would be gratefully received. I have recently discovered that my paternal grandmothers youngest brother died on 24/04/17 and rests in the Temple-Le-Gerard cemetry.

I would like to know more about his story, I know the 1st/8th was a territorial battalion but why did a clerk (1911 census) from Paignton end up joining the Worcesters rather than his local Devonshire regiment? We are going to France in August and detouring to visit the cemetry and I would like to get as much information as possible beforehand.

I have noticed on the CWGC website that there are a number of men from the battalion buried in the same row (including a couple of officers) all with the same date of death. Am I right assuming that this was because they were all killed on the same action (would this be recorded anywhere?) or justgiven the same date as their bodies were recovered on that day?

Again, any help would be gratefully appreciated.

Thanks
flatcapmon

Re: Private Albert Johns 242048 1st/8th Battalion

Postby irosk1 » Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:11 pm

I should think it means they were all killed on the same day. In some battles thousands of men could be killed in a morning. I think we have lost all notion today of what mass killing in war really means.

You should start your search for him on ancestry.co.uk to find his medal card and details of his death maybe. You might find records for him on Find My Past.co.uk also.

I do believe you can apply to Kew for his army record if it is still in existence (many First War records were destroyed in bombing raids during WW2).