Private Alfred Thomas Kelleway

This section of the forum is for any enquires relating the the First World War covering the dates 1914 to 1920.

Moderators: Kevin Lynott, peter, LarsA

Private Alfred Thomas Kelleway

Postby Griffo » Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:18 pm

Hi.....I have been researching my Grandfather for some time now and nearly have all the history of his lifetime however I have hit a problem with his WW1 army service so I would be grateful to anybody who can help me out here please.

Thomas Alfred Kelleway ( known to be spelt incorrectly as Kellaway on some documentation with an A instead of an E.)

Born 1881 Isle of Wight.......Died 1938 Southsea, Portsmouth. Buried Kingston Cemetry Portsmouth.

Married 1913

Service number at attestation on 8th December 1915 was 68601 in Portsmouth, Hampshire.
Relativly old for call-up at nearly 35 years of age and married. He was a Master Baker by profession.

Here are my questions:

Did he join the Worcestershire Regiment and if so how long did he serve and what was his work/trade?

Did he finish his army service as a Sergeant?...... if so what year was his discharge?

Did he end up in the Hampshire Regiment at some point in time?

I cannot locate his actual army record of service and medals awarded..... why is that?

I do have a photo of him in his army uniform in 1916 and if he served in the Worcestershire Rgt. I shall only be too pleased to add his name and photo to those already showing on the website.

Many Thanks to anyone who can help me fill in the gaps.
Last edited by Griffo on Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Griffo

Re: Private Alfred Thomas Kelleway

Postby Griffo » Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:19 pm

Can anyone help please? Especially if he was actually a member of the Worcestershire Regiment would help my research a lot.

Thanks in advance.
Griffo

Postby ukphil » Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:53 pm